Rocky and His Friends Episode Guide -Jay Ward Prods -Alternate: The Bullwinkle Show

Rocky and His Friends  Logo

Alternate Series Title: The Bullwinkle Show

The Bullwinkle Show, a pun-filled satire on melodramatic cliffhangers debuted in 1959 under the title Rocky and His Friends. Created by TV animation pioneer Jay Ward, the show was an instant success with both kids—who loved the show's crazy characters—and their parents, who caught the more subtle wordplay and sophisticated humor cleverly disguised as "children's entertainment." Within five months, ABC began airing episodes twice a week, on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

In September 1960, ABC moved Rocky and His Friends to Sunday afternoons. A year later, the show was canceled, and NBC snatched it up. Changing the name to The Bullwinkle Show, NBC aired it Sunday evenings for the first year, then moved it to Saturday mornings. Finally Bullwinkle wound up back on Sunday mornings again in September of 1964. Network reruns continued until 1973 when the show officially went into syndication.

Jay Ward Prods
This page has been viewed 4 times this month, and 12,465 times total.

Rocky and His Friends Show Segments:

Aesop and Son   (1962, 39 Episodes.)
Bullwinkle and Rocky Fan Club   (1962, 10 Episodes.)
Bullwinkle's Corner   (1962, 39 Episodes.)
Dudley Do-Right of the Mounties   (1962, 39 Episodes.)
Fractured Fairy Tales   (1959 – 1963, 90 Episodes.)
Mister Know-It-All   (1962, 50 Episodes.)
Peabody's Improbable History   (1959 – 1963, 91 Episodes.)
Rocky and His Friends   (1959 – 1965, 326 Episodes.)
Alternate Series Title: The Bullwinkle Show