Aesop's Fables Theatrical Series -Van Beuren Studios

Aesop's Fables Theatrical Cartoon Series Logo
Originally, a series of animated short subjects created by Paul Terry and actor-turned-writer Howard Estabrook. Terry set up a new studio called Fables Studios and received backing from the Keith-Albee Theatre circuit.

The earliest films were loose adaptations of the actual fables. Later entries usually revolved around cats, mice, and the disgruntled Farmer Al Falfa. Each short concluded with a "moral" that usually had nothing to do with the actual cartoon itself.

In 1929, Terry quit to start his own TerryToons Studios and John Foster took over the series under Amadee J. Van Beuren's brand new Van Beuren Corporation, a renamed Fable Studios. The series finally came to a close in 1933.

Van Beuren Studios

Rate This Theatrical Series:

BCDB Rating:

"Aesop's Fables" has not yet received enough votes to be rated. 2.2552

Aesop's Fables Theatrical Cartoon Series Cartoon Series:

Aesop's Film Fables   (1921 – 1929, 347 Theatrical Films.)
Aesops Fables   (1945 – 1960, 7 Theatrical Cartoons.)
Cubby Bear   (1933 – 1934, 17 Theatrical Cartoons.)