Skip to Content

Hoshi No Orpheus Production Information

Hoshi No Orpheus Cartoon Picture

>Sanrio Films
  • Sanrio Films
  • Animated Characters: Wondermaker, Perseus, Medusa, Actaeon, Diana, Orpheus, Eurydice, Phaeton (Phaethon), Herse, Aglauros.
  • Originally Released in 1978.
  • Running Time: 95 minutes.
  • Color
  • Japan  Japan / U.S.A.  U.S.A.


Production Notes:

This film was originally planned in 70mm.

It featured original pop music "starring musical performances by Joan Baez, Mick Jagger & The Rolling Stones, [and] The Pointer Sisters." However, the music rarely matched the images, and audience members were confused by the lack of dialogue accompanying the action.

The hero in each story was also played by the same character, making some think that the movie was simply one long story.

Originally released in Los Angeles in May 1978, then withdrawn, recut to 80 minutes with added narration by Peter Ustinov and music by a single composer, and released as "Winds of Change."

The feature was produced by Sanrio Films' short-lived Hollywood animation studio.

Traditional, Hand-drawn Animation.

English Titles: "Metamorphoses," "Metamorphoses/Winds Of Change," "Star Of Orpheus," "Orpheus Of The Stars."

If you know of more people who worked on this cartoon, or want to submit additional production information about Hoshi No Orpheus, please submit your information here.

     Cast Your Vote Here!    

  • BCDB Rating: 4.6/5 Stars from 4 users.
  • Social:        Pin

Return To Hoshi No Orpheus...

"Hoshi No Orpheus" is rated: -0.4 out of 5 stars (There have been 4 votes so far.)
This page has been viewed 178 times this month, and 1436 times total.

Read Reviews


Rate Cartoon


Link To Cartoon

Add To Faves

Hoshi No Orpheus